Don't Worry Darling

61 Drive-in TheatreMaquoketa IA

Blue Grass Drive-inBlue Grass IA

Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAXDavenport IA

FilmScene, Iowa City IA

Marcus Sycamore CinemaIowa City IA

Putnam Museum & Science Center, Davenport IA

Regal MolineMoline IL

(Hyperlinked titles take you to Reader reviews; IMDb hyperlinks take you to the films’ Internet Movie Database pages.)

***

Anvil! The Story of Anvil (not rated; Regal Moline: Tuesday, September 27, 7:30 p.m.) - As a comedy, a tragedy, and a platonic love story, this real-life This Is Spinal Tap goes to 11. IMDb listing.

Avatar (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX) - James Cameron's sci-fi epic wows you with stunning beauty and is truly something to see. I just wish it wasn't so painful to listen to. IMDb listing.

Barbarian (R; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Regal Moline, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - It doesn't quite hold together, but this unexpectedly clever, presentationally adventurous little shocker is worth seeing, and hints that writer/director Zach Cregger might one day be a significant genre talent in the vein of Jordan Peele and Ari Aster. IMDb listing.

Boogie Nights (R; FilmScene on the Ped Mall Rooftop: Sunday, September 25, 7:30 p.m.) - IMDb listing.

Bullet Train (R; Blue Grass Drive-in, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - An energetic but tiresome comedic action thriller that might be the new favorite movie for your stereotypical 13- or 14-year-old boy – or anyone who wishes, even for a couple of hours, that they (still) were one. IMDb listing.

Clerks III (R; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Regal Moline: Friday, September 23, through Sunday, September 25, 7 p.m.) - IMDb listing.

DC League of Super-Pets (PG; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Regal Moline) - If you and your kids are bored, and none of you are feeling adventurous enough for Marcel the Shell with Shoes On, you could certainly do worse. IMDb listing.

Depraved (not rated; FilmScene at the Chauncey: Wednesday, eptember 28, 10 p.m.) - IMDb listing.

DIO: Dreamers Never Die (not rated; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX: Wednesday, September 28, 7:15 p.m.) - IMDb listing.

Dirty Dancing (PG-13; 61 Drive-in Theatre) - IMDb listing.

Dog Day Afternoon (R; FilmScene at the Chauncey: Saturday, September 24, 10 p.m.) - IMDb listing.

Don't Worry Darling (R; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Regal Moline, Blue Grass Driuve-in, FilmScene on the Ped Mall, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - IMDb listing.

Flight of the Butterflies (not rated; Putnam Museum & Science Center) - A bit pokey, but the slow, unspeakably beautiful explosion that is the butterflies' mass exodus is enough to make you believe in God - or, at the very least, in the gods of nature docs. IMDb listing.

Footloose (PG; 61 Drive-in Theatre) - Director Herbert Ross clearly loves bodies in motion, and even when his movie's dance numbers border on the ridiculous, his camera is alive to the movement and keeps us riveted … and, on more than a few occasions, laughing. IMDb listing.

Harry Potter Week: The Complete Film Series (PG/PG-13; Regal Moline) - RegMovies.com.

Hockeyland (not rated; FilmScene at the Chauncey) - IMDb listing.

Howl's Moving Castle (PG; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - Hayao Miyazaki's animated fantasy is dazzlingly detailed and has a rich storyline, but it's too bad that the characters aren't more beguiling. IMDb listing.

The Invitation (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX) - There are a lot of horror movies in here for one 104-minute package. One of them is fairly decent. IMDb listing.

Jerusalem (not rated; Putnam Mueum + Science Center) - As a means of generating discussion among interfaith viewers, and perhaps especially as an introduction to the city for young audiences, this edu-doc might prove unmissable.  IMDb listing

Kaluoka'hina: The Enchanted Reef (not rated; Putnam Museum & Science Center) - IMDb listing.

Krishna Vrinda Vihari (not rated; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - IMDb listing.

Lifemark (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX) - IMDb listing.

Luck (G; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - IMDb listing.

Mija (PG-13; FilmScene at the Chauncey: Wednesday, September 28, 7 p.m.) - IMDb listing.

Minions: The Rise of Gru (PG; Regal Moline) - The only things I actively remember from this animated franchise extender were the hilarious antics of Minions Kevin, Stuart, Bob, and Otto, and I barely remember them at all. IMDb listing.

Moonage Daydream (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, FilmScene at the Chauncey) - IMDb listing.

Mummies: Secrets of the Pharaohs (not rated; Putnam Museum & Science Center) - This edu-doc is a bit pokey, but it's never less than interesting, and those mega-screen vistas of Egypt are truly stunning. IMDb listing.

Nope (R; Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - If Jordan Peele is less generous than usual with the stinging social commentary here, he also hasn't previously delivered this kind of hilarious, nerve-shredding, blockbuster-scaled fun. IMDb listing.

Oceans (not rated; Putnam Museum & Science Center) - This edu-doc is a little pokey, but it's hard to be too disappointed by a film that provides so many extraordinary sights. IMDb listing.

Pearl (R; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Regal Moline, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - Even though this horror prequel is more constrictive than its predecessor X, Mia Goth gives one of the ballsiest, most heartbreaking, most thunderously powerful genre performances I've ever seen. EverIMDb listing.

Poltergeist40th Anniversary (PG; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX: Sunday, September 25, 4 & 7 p.m., and Wednesday, September 28, 7 p.m.) - Tobe Hooper's 1982 original might be the most purely upsetting PG-rated fright flick in the genre's history - and yes, I am counting that nightmare-inducing 1978 remake of Invasion of the Body Snatchers. IMDb listing.

Railway Children (PG; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - IMDb listing.

See How They Run (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Blue Grass Drive-in, FilmScene on the Ped Mall, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - This lightweight mystery-comedy charmer gets so many big things right that it's easy to ignore your quibbles, and Saoirse Ronan is an absolute, show-stealing delight. IMDb listing.

The Shining (R; Blue Grass Drive-in) - In his horror masterpiece, Stanley Kubrick shattered our presumptions by significantly deviating from the novel's haunted-hotel particulars and creating hypnotically unsettling imagery that felt far more the product of Kubrick than Stephen King. IMDb listing.

The Silent Twins (R; Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - IMDb listing.

The Spanish Dancer (not rated; FilmScene at the Chauncey: Thursday, September 29, 7 p.m.) - IMDb listing.

Star Trek (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX: Sunday, September 25, 4 p.m., and Wednesday, September 28, 7 p.m.) - J.J. Abrams' 2009 sci-fi reboot is speedy, smart, thrilling, funny, and, in the end, almost criminally enjoyable. IMDb listing.

Superpower Dogs (G; Putnam Museum & Science Center) - Writer/director Daniel Ferguson provides enough globe-trotting action for a James Bond flick, and we're given just enough information on how the heroic pups pull off their feats of derring-do to wholly appreciate them in practice. IMDb listing.

Top Gun: Maverick (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Regal Moline) - Had this action drama really embraced Tom Cruise's human fallibility, this corny, retrograde, occasionally quite-entertaining outing might've really been something. IMDb listing.

Where the Crawdads Sing (PG-13; Regal Moline, Blue Grass Drive-in, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - I have friends who swear by the book's greatness, but onscreen, this marshland mystery feels like what you'd get if John Grisham and Nicholas Sparks had a baby and promptly dropped it on its head. IMDb listing.

Wild Africa (not rated; Putnam Museum & Science Center) - IMDb listing.

The Woman King (PG-13; Davenport 53rd 18 + IMAX, Regal Moline, Blue Grass Drive-in, FilmScene at the Chauncey, Marcus Sycamore Cinema) - Gina Prince-Bythewood's period action drama is many things, but nothing so much as a thrilling, emotional, crowd-pleasing popcorn entertainment – perhaps the most radical traditional epic I've ever seen. IMDb listing.

Support the River Cities' Reader

Get 12 Reader issues mailed monthly for $48/year.

Old School Subscription for Your Support

Get the printed Reader edition mailed to you (or anyone you want) first-class for 12 months for $48.
$24 goes to postage and handling, $24 goes to keeping the doors open!

Click this link to Old School Subscribe now.



Help Keep the Reader Alive and Free Since '93!

 

"We're the River Cities' Reader, and we've kept the Quad Cities' only independently owned newspaper alive and free since 1993.

So please help the Reader keep going with your one-time, monthly, or annual support. With your financial support the Reader can continue providing uncensored, non-scripted, and independent journalism alongside the Quad Cities' area's most comprehensive cultural coverage." - Todd McGreevy, Publisher