· Big funk and big love are back on the map with the soulful vibes of Big Advice and its appropriately titled album Love Shines. Comprised of Juan Nelson, bassist of Ben Harper's Innocent Criminals, and vocalist Ahaguna Sun of Sunbear, Big Advice is a smooth house party and romantic after-hours gem wearing its heart on its sleeve for classic soul grooves. And I say more (Tower Of) Power to them, giving it up for the funk of Earth, Wind, & Fire, Chas Jankel 1980s British soul, and the quiet swell of The Whispers, swaying and pulling tight into the corners, like an endless couples-only skate at the old-school Roller Wonderland. Put down your hollow hatin' and take your brother's hand in this new-funk tent revival, reminiscent of Mamma Stud, Maze, The Gap Band, and the lush sweep of ABC and Joe Jackson's jazz adventures. Look for Love Shines on the Electric Monkey Records imprint, brave enough to release this shining star of uplifting soul in a cynical world.

· Another highly recommended new release due this coming Tuesday is a blistering CD re-issue of Anarchy in Paris!, as musical man clashed with a new generation of machines under the nervous energy of 1977 punk. As one of the first artists released on the seminal Rough Trade Records label, France's Metal Urbain never reached overground status, perhaps due to the language barrier, but the band's electro-punk of drum machines and ferocious fuzz guitars simmered as a pioneer in its own Euro sound lab, with Chrome and Suicide conducting similar experiments here in the states. Undoubtedly an influence on Big Black and The Jesus & Mary Chain, this stuff is the real deal, bristling with sinewy muscle and propaganda shout-outs. The Carpark Records label has more Metal Urbain releases scheduled this year, coinciding with the band's reunion and North American tour.

· Royalties to "Every Breath You Take" earn songwriter Sting about $2,000 a day, and the upcoming soundtrack to Adam Sandler's and Drew Barrymore's 50 First Dates will add more coins to his coffer. Due early next month on the Maverick label, the soundtrack features 1980s classics covered by today's hit-makers, such as UB40's interpretation of The Police creeper. Other treatments include Ziggy Marley's behind-the-wheel spin of The Cars' "Drive," the Black Eyed Peas' take on Spandau Ballet's "True," Jason Mraz's solo effort of Modern English's "I'll Melt with You," and The Outfield's "Your Love" as a duet from Wyclef Jean and Eve.

Television Alert:

The Late Show with David Letterman hosts Howie Day this evening and Al Green on Monday; The Tonight Show with Jay Leno welcomes Joe Cocker this evening; Late Night with Conan O'Brien features the return of The Candy Butchers on Tuesday overnight; The Late Late Show with Craig Kilborn boasts Death Cab for Cutie Monday overnight; and Saturday Night Live's musical guest this weekend is 50 Cent.

New Releases Coming Tuesday, January 20:
... and like the winds, young grasshopper, are subject to change

Animal Collective - Here Comes the Indian (Paw Tracks)

Azure Ray - "New Resolution" (Saddle Creek) enhanced CD single

Belle & Sebastian - Fans Only (Matador) DVD release with 75 songs and tons of goodies

Bevel - Down the Puppet String, Marionettes (Jagjaguwar) CD EP

Black Keys - "The Moan" (Alive!) four-track CD EP featuring covers of The Stooges' "No Fun" and Richard Berry's "Have Love, Will Travel"

Books Lie - Hall of Fame Fire (Level Plane)

Boyskout - School of Etiquette (Alive!)

Califone - Heron King Blues (Thrill Jockey)

Camera Obscura - Underachievers Please Try Harder (Merge)

Candy Butchers - Hang on Mike (RPM/Columbia)

Edie Carey - When I Was Made (Accidental Poet)

Michael Cavallaro - 66 Thousand Miles Per Hour #0 Color Special (Chunksahh) new CD and comic book from the former Zero Zero and Sticks & Stones guitarist

Clones - Need a Wave (Dirtnap) new from Jeffie Pop of New Town Animals

Crispy Ambulance - The Powder Blind Dream (Darla)

The Dexateens - The Dexateens (Estrus)

Dexter Freebish - Tripped into Divine (Sixthman) sophomore album featuring the track "Ghosts"

Dub Narcotic - Degenerate Introduction (K Records)

Evaporators - Ripple Rock (Alternative Tentacles) fronted by Nardwuar the Human Serviette, with bonus interviews with Jello Biafra and Dan Quayle

Sally Fingerett - Woman's Gotta Do Her Thing (Shanachie) new solo project from this Bitchin' Babe

Heads vs. Breakers - Apathy Is the New Black (New Day Rising) new hardcore

Joe Jackson - 25th Anniversary Live (Koch)

King Cobra - King Cobra (Troubleman) new from bassist Tara Jane O'Neil of Rodan and The Sonora Pine

The Lost Patrol - Songs About Running Away (Epitaph) featuring Dennis Lyxzen of the Refused

Mekons - Punk Rock (Touch & Go) recorded on return from the group's 25th anniversary tour

Jessy Moss - Street Knuckles (DreamWorks)

New End Original - Lukewarm (Jade Tree)

One From the Heart - original motion picture soundtrack (Columbia Legacy) gorgeous music from Tom Waits and Crystal Gayle, now expanded to two CDs

Oneida - Secret Wars (Jagjaguwar)

Dizzee Rascal - Boy in da Corner (XL/Matador)

Jenny Scheinman - Shalagaster (Tzadik) violinist known for her collaborations with Bill Laswell

Sigmatropic - Sixteen Haiku & Other Stories (Thirsty Ear) long-anticipated project that features guest vocalists such as Robert Wyatt, Mark Eitzel, Lee Ranaldo, Cat Power, and Alejandro Escovedo breathing the words of Greek poet and Nobel laureate George Seferis

Sister Hazel - A Life in the Day (Sixthman) DVD documentary of life on the road and on the water, with the band's annual Concert Cruise on the Rock Boat

Sister Hazel - Live LIVE! (Sixthman) two-CD concert collection

Smogtown - All Wiped Out (TKO) collection of final recording sessions

The Special Goodness - Land Sea Air (Epitaph) re-issue of this excellent self-released 2003 project from Pat Wilson of Weezer and Atom Willard of Rocket from the Crypt, now re-mixed in a new package with a new song order and two bonus videos

Matthew Sweet - Kimi Ga Suki (Cutting Edge) domestic release of this Japanese CD

Toys That Kill - "Flys" (Asian Man) seven-inch and CD single

TV on the Radio - Young Liars (Touch & Go) special vinyl pressing of this fantastic new album

various artists - Keep Left Vol. 1 (Ace Fu) benefit CD supporting David Barsamian's Alternative Radio program, with contributions from Negativland, Built to Spill, Pere Ubu, and Friends of Dean Martinez

Volcano, I'm Excited - Future (Polyvinyl)

Where Eagles Dare - To Come from Nowhere (New Day Rising)

Support the River Cities' Reader

The QCA’s Only Free Press Can Really Use Your Support


"We're the River Cities' Reader, and we've kept the Quad Cities' only independently owned newspaper alive and free since 1993. Now we find our ability to continue providing all the features you love in serious jeopardy without the financial support of our readers.

So please help the Reader keep going with your one-time, monthly, or annual support. With your financial support the Reader can continue providing uncensored, non-scripted, and independent journalism alongside the Quad Cities' area's most comprehensive cultural coverage." - Todd McGreevy, Publisher