This Tuesday brings an avalanche of soundtrack CDs from upcoming films and music-fueled television dramas. Epic Records' release of the Moonlight Mile soundtrack is a well-conceived quilt of iconic hits and interesting choices.

The film opens September 27, starring Dustin Hoffman and Susan Sarandon, and boasts a 14-song set that runs from the Rolling Stones title track and Dave Edmunds' "I Hear You Knocking" to B-side rarities from David Bowie, Bob Dylan, and Van Morrison. Also within are two vintage Sly & The Family Stone tracks, T-Rex's signature "Twentieth Century Boy," and a terrific new Travis song, "Love Will Come Through." Fans of the UPN's Buffy the Vampire Slayer are anticipating next week's arrival of Once More With Feeling: The Musical Episode Soundtrack. The Rounder Records release collects all the ambitious musical numbers from the show's Emmy-nominated episode, along with bonus demo and score material. Comic-book fans might notice the mighty hand of artist Adam Hughes gracing the cover. Two other television soundtracks drop Tuesday: CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and Scrubs. The CSI set, on the Hip-O Records imprint, features The Who's opening theme "Who Are You" and a new Wallflowers track, "Everybody Out of the Water," alongside other driving songs from the Chamber Brothers, Lo-Fidelity Allstars, Portishead, Sigur Ros, and Grand Theft Auto. Taking a more alternative bent, NBC's Scrubs has hammered home a background blend of Laslo Bane, Guided by Voices, Men at Work's Colin Hay, and the Incredible Moses Leroy. Other oddities getting primetime shine on the Hollywood Records collection include the Eels, Erasure, The Shins, and Francis Dunnery. On the same day the label is releasing the original motion-picture soundtrack to Sweet Home Alabama, with two interesting cover contributions: Jewel supplies the title track, her cover of the Lynyrd Skynyrd classic, and new jazz chanteuse Norah Jones offers up her take on Hank Williams' "Cold, Cold Heart." Decca Records is releasing what might be the perfect audio chiller to sling treats by this Halloween: Danny Elfman's original motion picture score to Red Dragon, the upcoming Hannibal Lecter thriller in theaters October 4. In a related note, Elfman's original juggernaut, Oingo Boingo, is honored this coming Tuesday with a new retrospective CD. This Best of Oingo Boingo release bears MCA's 20th Century Masters series imprint and features such high energy pogo-friendly tracks as "Weird Science," "Only a Lad," and "Just Another Day."

Television Alert:

The Tonight Show with Jay Leno welcomes Unkle Kracker on Tuesday; The Late Show with David Letterman features Alicia Keys tonight and India.Arie on Wednesday; Late Night with Conan O'Brien hosts Paul Westerberg on Friday; The Late Late Show with Craig Kilborn surfs the fringe with The Mooney Suzuki on Friday overnight; and Last Call with Carson Daly features The Violent Femmes on Friday overnight.

New Releases Coming Tuesday, September 24:

... and like the winds, young grasshopper, are subject to change

Ryan Adams - Demolition (Lost Highway) collection of demos from 2000 and 2001

Asian Dub Foundation - Fact & Fiction (Beggars Banquet) re-issue of the band's debut album

Asian Dub Foundation - Frontline (Beggars Banquet) collection of re-mixes and rarities

Asylum Street Spankers - My Favorite Record (Spanks-a-Lot/Bloodshot) offbeat acoustic songcraft and exuberant "Betty Boop" vaudeville jazz, shuffling between sexy, spunky, and smart

The Beatles - A Hard Day's Night (Miramax Home Entertainment) two-DVD set

The Beautiful Mistake - Light a Match, for I Deserve to Burn (Militia Group)

Beck - Sea Change (Geffen) on tour now with the Flaming Lips

Eliza Carthy & Nancy Kerr - On Reflection (Gadfly) collection of early recordings from these traditional British folk singers and songwriters

CKY - Infiltrate Destroy Rebuild (Island) favorites of the skateboard community and MTV's Jackass

The Les Claypool Brigade - Presents Purple Onion (Prawn Song) featuring guests Warren Haynes of Gov't Mule and Fish Fisher of Fishbone

Doro - Fight (SPV) with guests Peter Steele of Type O Negative and Chris Caffery of Savatage

Steve Earle - Jerusalem (Artemis) politically charged new album featuring "John Walker's Blues" and " Amerika v6.0"

Peter Gabriel - Up (Real World/Geffen) his first new studio set in 10 years

Rex Hobart & The Misery Boys - Your Favorite Fool (Bloodshot)

India.Arie - Voyage to India (Motown) also available as a limited edition with a bonus track

Lifter Puller - Soft Rock (French Kiss) two-CD rarities collection

Low - Trust (Kranky) featuring guest vocalist Gerry Beckley of America

Delbert McClinton - Room to Breathe (New West) featuring songwriting collaborations with Al Anderson of NRBQ and Benmont Tench

Mclusky - Mclusky Do Dallas (Too Pure/Beggars Banquet) recorded by Steve Albini

Rhett Miller - The Instigator (Elektra) new from the Old 97's singer

Ted Nugent - Caveman (Spitfire) all new from the best-selling author of Kill It & Grill It

Parker & Lily - Here Comes Winter (Manifesto) dark, pensive electronic noodlings and atmospheric slow-motion pop songs

Porcupine Tree - In Absentia (Lava/Atlantic)

Scenic - The Acid Gospel Experience (Hidden Agenda/Parasol) with guest pianist Harold Budd, this ambient interstellar journey features unique Discfolio packaging

The Shining - True Skies (Epic) featuring the return of Simon Jones and Simon Tong of The Verve with 22-year-old vocalist Duncan Baxter

Skylab - Side Effects (ColourSound/Aeronaut) soaring melodic rock from three former members of Plastiscene

Slobberbone - Slippage (New West) featuring the band's Texas-powered cover of The Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody"; the group's song "Gimme Back My Dog" recently showed up in the pages of Stephen King's and Peter Straub's novel Black House

Snapcase - End Transmission (Victory)

The Soundtrack to Our Lives - Behind the Music (Republic/Universal) Swedish six-piece recently opening for Oasis on its U.S. tour

Spring Heel Jack - Amassed (Blue Series/Thirsty Ear) with guest J Spaceman of Spiritualized

Ten Foot Pole - Bad Mother Trucker (Victory)

Underworld - A Hundred Days Off (V2)

Unkle Kracker - No Stranger to Shame (Lava/Atlantic) featuring the single "In a Little While"

various artists - Kindred Spirits: A Tribute to Johnny Cash (Lucky Dog/Sony) with Bob Dylan, Steve Earle, Bruce Springsteen, Little Richard, and more

Vertical Horizon - Go (RCA) featuring a string section on a handful of tracks

Viva Death - Viva Death (Vagrant) debut from Trevor Keith of Face to Face and Josh Freese of A Perfect Circle

Phillip Walker - The Phillip Walker Big Band Live (M.C. Records) recorded at San Francisco's Biscuits & Blues with guest Charlie Musselwhite

Andy West & RAMA - RAMA (Magna Carta) new from the bassist of the Dregs

Premium Content: