DES MOINES, IOWA (January 30, 2019) — After completing public interviews of all 19 applicants, the State Judicial Nominating Commission has selected a slate of three nominees to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Supreme Court that occurred upon Justice Daryl Hecht’s retirement December 13, 2018.

The nominees are:

Kellyann Lekar Chief Judge First Judicial District Waterloo

Christopher McDonald Court of Appeals Judge Iowa Court of Appeals Des Moines

Dustria Relph District Court Judge Fifth Judicial District Corydon

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has thirty days in which to make the appointment to the court from this slate of nominees. The application for each applicant and archived video of each of the applicant interviews is posted on the Judicial Branch website at: 

Support the River Cities' Reader

The QCA’s Only Free Press Can Really Use Your Support


With your financial support the Reader can continue providing uncensored, non-scripted and independent journalism alongside the Quad Cities' area's most comprehensive cultural coverage.

With your support, at what ever level and frequency you choose, the independently owned (since 1993) Reader will continue printing and distributing monthly as well as maintaining its staff and freelancers that keep the online Reader fresh and relevant.