DES MOINES, IOWA (June 26, 2020) The Iowa Finance Authority is seeking nominations for the thirteenth annual HousingIowa Awards. The HousingIowa Awards recognize outstanding programs, projects and individuals in all sectors of Iowa’s housing industry for their leadership and innovation in advancing housing opportunities in Iowa. Award nominations are due July 31.

Nominations are judged by an independent panel of judges. The 2020 award winners will be announced the week of October 5.

Award categories include:

  • Innovation;
  • Kay Anderson Friend of Iowa;
  • Legislative Friend of Housing;
  • Multifamily Housing Development;
  • Single-Family Housing Development; and
  • Special Needs Housing Development.

More information is available at

The Iowa Legislature created the Iowa Finance Authority in 1975 to undertake programs to assist in the attainment of housing for low- and moderate-income Iowans. Since then, the Iowa Finance Authority’s role has grown to include affordable housing, water-quality. and beginning farmer programs.

Support the River Cities' Reader

Get 12 Reader issues mailed monthly for $48/year.

Old School Subscription for Your Support

Get the printed Reader edition mailed to you (or anyone you want) first-class for 12 months for $48.
$24 goes to postage and handling, $24 goes to keeping the doors open!

Click this link to Old School Subscribe now.

Help Keep the Reader Alive and Free Since '93!


"We're the River Cities' Reader, and we've kept the Quad Cities' only independently owned newspaper alive and free since 1993.

So please help the Reader keep going with your one-time, monthly, or annual support. With your financial support the Reader can continue providing uncensored, non-scripted, and independent journalism alongside the Quad Cities' area's most comprehensive cultural coverage." - Todd McGreevy, Publisher