DES MOINES, IOWA (March 25, 2019) — As a result of President Trump's Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for public and individual assistance for residents of Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, and Woodbury counties in Iowa, disaster unemployment-assistance (DUA) is now available in those counties. DUA expands eligibility for unemployment benefits and provides assistance to the self-employed including business owners and farmers.

Iowa Workforce Development will hold public events to assist individuals in filing the claims and those dates and locations will be announced shortly.  More information is available at our website, or contact us at 1-866-239-0843 for assistance.  We will continue to update the website as new information becomes available.

Iowa Workforce Development is dedicated to assisting Iowans by providing unemployment insurance benefits, if eligible, and finding temporary employment if your customary employer is not able to provide work for you.

Support the River Cities' Reader

Get 12 Reader issues mailed monthly for $48/year.

Old School Subscription for Your Support

Get the printed Reader edition mailed to you (or anyone you want) first-class for 12 months for $48.
$24 goes to postage and handling, $24 goes to keeping the doors open!

Click this link to Old School Subscribe now.

Help Keep the Reader Alive and Free Since '93!


"We're the River Cities' Reader, and we've kept the Quad Cities' only independently owned newspaper alive and free since 1993.

So please help the Reader keep going with your one-time, monthly, or annual support. With your financial support the Reader can continue providing uncensored, non-scripted, and independent journalism alongside the Quad Cities' area's most comprehensive cultural coverage." - Todd McGreevy, Publisher