MOLINE, ILLINOIS - May 2, 2011 - WQPT received 378 stories from students in kindergarten through third grade for their annual PBS Kids Go Writers Contest. Sixteen winners (four from each grade) were recently selected by educators and sponsors of the contest. The winners and their families will be honored and awarded prizes at Deere-Wiman House on Sunday, May 22 at 3 pm.

Stories were judged on such criteria as: Is the story written clearly? Does it have interesting details? Is there a conflict, lesson or information learned? Do the illustrations enhance the story? How well did the author follow the guidelines?

"It`s evident that many of these young authors spent a great deal of time and effort on their stories and illustrations," said Ana Kehoe, WQPT Educational Outreach Director. "The judges were pleased there were so many excellent stories, and it was a challenge to select the final 16 winners."

Sponsors for the contest were Butterworth Center & Deere-Wiman House, Family Museum, Figge Art Museum, Midwest Writing Center and WQPT, Quad Cities PBS. Winning stories will be on display from May 22 - June 5 at the Butterworth Center in Moline, Illinois; from June 6 to June 21 at the Figge Art Museum in Davenport, Iowa; from June 22 to July 5 at the Midwest Writing Center; and from July 6 to July 20 at the Family Museum in Bettendorf, Iowa.

WQPT is a media service of Western Illinois University - Quad Cities located in Moline, Illinois.



First Place: Andrew Skinner, Alan Shepard Elementary, Eldridge, IA

Second Place: Isabel Kann, Winfield-Mt. Union School, Winfield, IA

Third Place: Juanita Lopez, Longfellow Elementary, Rock Island, IL

Honorable Mention: Aneesa Saldivar, Longfellow Elementary, Rock Island, IL


First Grade

First Place: Calla Brunkan, Ed White Elementary, Eldridge, IA

Second Place: Allen Catour, C.R. Hanna Elementary, Orion, IL

Third Place: Dalton Morrow, Harrison Elementary, Davenport, IA

Honorable Mention: Riley Packer, Erie Elementary, Erie, IL


Second Grade

First Place: Baylor Verbrugge, Ed White Elementary, Eldridge, IA

Second Place: Angela Jones, Rivermont Collegiate, Bettendorf, IA

Third Place: Ilese Rodeffer, Bushnell Elementary, Bushnell, IL

Honorable Mention: Ezra Olson, Homeschooled, East Moline, IL


Third Grade

First Place: Jayda Brunkan, Ed White Elementary, Eldridge, IA

Second Place: Faith Catour, C.R. Hanna Elementary, Orion, IL

Third Place: Liberio Mukdani, Jane Addams Elementary, Moline, IL

Honorable Mention: Nichole Taets, C.R. Hanna Elementary, Orion, IL

Support the River Cities' Reader

Get 12 Reader issues mailed monthly for $48/year.

Old School Subscription for Your Support

Get the printed Reader edition mailed to you (or anyone you want) first-class for 12 months for $48.
$24 goes to postage and handling, $24 goes to keeping the doors open!

Click this link to Old School Subscribe now.

Help Keep the Reader Alive and Free Since '93!


"We're the River Cities' Reader, and we've kept the Quad Cities' only independently owned newspaper alive and free since 1993.

So please help the Reader keep going with your one-time, monthly, or annual support. With your financial support the Reader can continue providing uncensored, non-scripted, and independent journalism alongside the Quad Cities' area's most comprehensive cultural coverage." - Todd McGreevy, Publisher