JOHNSTON, Iowa, December 1, 2016 - Iowa Corn proudly announces today the 23 Iowa college students who will make up the seventh Iowa Corn Collegiate Advisory Team (CAT). Comprised of Iowa students pursuing degrees in agriculture, CAT will assist the Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) in developing targeted programs to enhance the organizations' relationships with individuals pursuing careers in agriculture production and allied industries. CAT achieves this by fostering the knowledge and skills of these future leaders and providing them the tools to advocate for Iowa Corn and other commodity organizations' role in the success of Iowa agriculture.

"Iowa corn farmers' future depends our ability to offer relevant programming, advocacy and services to new professionals entering Iowa's agricultural sector, "said Iowa Corn Promotion Board Director Larry Buss, a farmer from Logan who chairs the committee overseeing the team. "We are excited to work with these 23 bright students on ways we can cultivate and promote our organization and the corn industry."

The team includes one representative from each state college and university, and five students from Iowa State University. In addition, two additional positions on the team are for students in non-ag disciplines at any accredited Iowa college or university. The 2016/2017 participants:

Name; Hometown; College Attending

Michael Barr; Kellogg; Iowa State University
Michaella Beckman; Mediapolis; Southeastern Community College
Victoria Butt; Iowa Falls; Ellsworth Community College
John Dieter; Sioux City; Morningside Community College
Benjamin Dirks; Monticello; Iowa State University
Erin Dolecheck; Kellerton; Graceland University
Abby Glam; Spencer; Iowa Lake Community College
Madison Hoch; Algona; Ellsworth Community College
Evann Farrens; Lenox; Southwestern Community College
Anthony Furlin; Numa; Indian Hills Community College
Austin Fariss; Batavia; Muscatine Community College
Katey-Jayne Dennis; Mitchellville; Des Moines Area Community College
Bryce Lidtka; Grinnell; Dordt College
Tessa Meyer; Waterloo; Hawkeye Community College
Luke Pelzer; West Liberty; Muscatine Community College
Joe Roberts; Belmond; Iowa State University
Katie Schmith; Orange City; Northwestern College
Sami Searle; Joice; North Iowa Area Community College
Kelsi Sieren; Keota; Iowa State University
Kayla Smith; Marengo; Iowa State University
Christopher Thurm; Readlyn; Hawkeye Community College
Clayton Taylor; Lohrville; Iowa Central Community College
Ellen Westhoff; Mount Vernon; Kirkwood Community College

- 30 -

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB), works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is an 8,000-member strong grassroots-driven organization, headquartered in Johnston, Iowa, serving members across the state, and lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its farmer members to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. For more information, visit